The Most Talented Basketball Players Ever

Jack Mbabuike

March 12, 2023

Throughout the history of basketball, there have been many players who have risen to the occasion and are considered the best in the game. Some of these include Elvin Hayes, Hakeem “The Dream” Olajuwon, Wilt Chamberlain, George Mikan, and Bob McAdoo.

Hakeem “The Dream” Olajuwon

Having played for over two decades in the NBA, Hakeem “The Dream” Olajuwon is one of the greatest centres in basketball history. He is known for his nimble footwork in the low post, as well as his signature “Dream Shake” move. He is also a two-time NBA champion. After playing for the University of Houston Cougars, Olajuwon was drafted by the Houston Rockets. He was chosen first overall.

Olajuwon had a strong rookie season, averaging 20.6 points and 11.9 rebounds. He also led the league in blocked shots, shot-blocking, and steals. In 1990, he became the first player in NBA history to record 200 blocks in a single season. 1990, he also won the rebounding title. In 1993, he won the regular season MVP.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Whether you’re a basketball fan or not, you’ll recognize Kareem Abdul-Jabbar as one of the greatest NBA players ever. With his unique shot, long gangly limbs, and all-around skills, he is a force to be reckoned with.

Kareem is known for his “Skyhook” shot, which is a slow, high-arcing flip shot over the shoulder from the low post. This shot is used by no other player. This is a signature shot that helped make Kareem Abdul-Jabbar one of the most dominant NBA players of all time.

Kareem is the most prolific scorer in NBA history, averaging 24.8 points per game. He also averaged 10.8 rebounds per game. He has won six MVP awards and was named to 15 All-NBA teams.

Karl Malone

Throughout his 19-year career in the NBA, Karl Malone is widely considered to be the greatest power forward of all time. He is a two-time MVP and a three-time Finals MVP, and he is also the second-best all-time scorer in NBA history with 36,928 points.

After starting his career as a 13th-round draft pick in 1985, he went on to become a three-time regular season MVP. He was named to eight All-NBA teams, including two first-team all-stars.

In addition to his accomplishments as a player, Karl Malone has been inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. He has been ranked as the best power forward in the game’s history and was named among the 50 Best All-Time Players by Sports Illustrated. He was named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player in 1997, and he was also inducted into the NBA Hall of Fame in 2010.

Malone is the oldest player to ever reach a triple-double, and he was a great rebounder. He also led the NBA in free throw attempts in five consecutive seasons. Karl Malone is also one of the most durable players in the league. He has missed only 10 games in his career.

Wilt Chamberlain

During his professional basketball career, Wilt Chamberlain was a four-time NBA MVP and the only player to average over 30 points and 20 rebounds a game. He also won a total of nine field goal percentage titles. In addition, Wilt Chamberlain was a member of thirteen All-Star Games and earned seven 1st Team All-NBA selections.

Wilt Chamberlain was a highly accomplished athlete who won three championships with the San Francisco Warriors. He was also the only player to ever score 100 points in a single game. He became the first player to win both the Rookie of the Year and the MVP in the same season.

Elvin Hayes

Having a career spanning 16 seasons, the one-armed bandit is still in the game, and he has earned his dues. The man has logged some big numbers and a few big games. A career highlight came in the form of winning the NBA championship in 1978. He was named MVP of the league and was voted the best power forward in the league by his peers.

The tallest player in the league at 6 feet 9 inches, the number three is a bit on the short side for the current crop of PFs. His high energy level translates into a big rebounding average. He was a solid defender and a savvy passer.

George Mikan

During his eight-year pro career, George Mikan was a dominant force in the game. His scoring averages, rebounding statistics, and win shares would rival some of the greatest players of all time. He won seven NBA championships, led the league in scoring three times, and was voted the most valuable player in the NBA.

After a brief stint as a coach for the Lakers, Mikan returned to the court in midseason. He was an All-NBA First Team member for five straight seasons. He also played in four All-Star games from 1951 through 1954.

Bob McAdoo

During the 1980s, Bob McAdoo was one of the best big men in the NBA. He led the league in scoring three years in a row from ’73-’76, was a five-time All-Star and was an NBA MVP. Bob McAdoo also won two NBA championships with the Los Angeles Lakers. He was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame, the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame, and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Bob McAdoo played in the NBA for 14 years. He was named the Most Valuable Player of the NBA in 1975 and won two NBA Championships with the Lakers.