Which Knicks team is the best?

Jack Mbabuike

June 14, 2023

Knicks team


The New York Knicks team, one of the NBA’s most storied franchises, have had their fair share of ups and downs throughout their rich history. From championship glory to years of struggle, the Knicks legacy is a tapestry woven with moments of triumph and heartache. In this article, we embark on a journey to determine. Which Knicks team can claim the title of the best in franchise history.

The 1969-70 Championship Team:

Led by the indomitable Willis Reed, the 1969-70 Knicks team etched their names in history as the first and only Knicks team squad to capture an NBA championship. With a well-balanced roster that included the likes of Walt Frazier, Bill Bradley, Dave DeBusschere, and Earl Monroe. This team epitomized unselfish play, defensive tenacity, and resilience. Their hard-fought series victory over the Los Angeles Lakers in the Finals is legendary, and their commitment to teamwork and defensive prowess continues to be celebrated.

The 1972-73 Championship Team:

The 1972-73 Knicks team is considered one of the greatest in the history of the NBA. This squad, led by coach Red Holzman, showcased a blend of offensive firepower and stifling defense. The team featured future Hall of Famers such as Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, Earl Monroe, Bill Bradley, and Dave DeBusschere. The Knicks’ unyielding defense, exemplified by their ability to hold opponents to under 100 points for a record 49 consecutive games. And propelled them to their second NBA championship in four seasons. Their dominance and attention to defensive detail make them a strong contender for the title of the best Knicks team.

The 1993-94 Finals Team:

The 1993-94 Knicks team, under coach Pat Riley’s guidance, captured New York City’s hearts. With their gritty style of play and blue-collar mentality. Led by the duo of Patrick Ewing and John Starks, this team embraced the city’s passion and toughness. With a rugged defense and a balanced offensive attack, the Knicks team fought to the NBA Finals, only to fall agonizingly short of a championship in a hard-fought series against the Houston Rockets. Despite the outcome, the 1993-94 Knicks team remains etched in the hearts of fans for their resilience. And embodiment of the city’s spirit.

The 1999-2000 Eastern Conference Champions:

The 1999-2000 Knicks team, under the guidance of coach Jeff Van Gundy, showcased a fierce determination and an unyielding defensive mindset. Led by Patrick Ewing, Latrell Sprewell, and Allan Houston, this team battled to the NBA Finals, falling short of the Los Angeles Lakers. Despite not capturing the championship, the team’s grit, defensive prowess, and ability to overcome adversity made them a special Knicks squad.


Determining the best Knicks team is challenging, as each team brings unique qualities and moments of brilliance. The 1969-70 championship team set the foundation with their teamwork. And defensive prowess, while the 1972-73 championship team showcased dominance on both ends of the court. The 1993-94 and 1999-2000 teams embody the indomitable spirit of New York, captivating fans with their toughness and resilience. Ultimately, the answer to which Knicks is the best is subjective and open to interpretation. Each team holds a special place in the hearts of fans, contributing to the rich tapestry of Knicks history. Regardless of the verdict, the legacy of these teams and the unforgettable moments they provided continue to inspire and resonate with fans, solidifying their place in the annals of Knicks lore.